Voting Now Open for Seats on the MASB Board of Directors

Stacy Bogard

By Stacy Bogard, CAE, MASB Assistant Director of Communications, PR & Marketing

DashBoard, Jan. 27, 2016

MASB is governed by a 19-member Board of Directors made up of two directors from each of the eight Regions, and one director each from Groups V, VI and VII.

Directors are elected by MASB member districts to serve up to three-year terms. Ballots for three Regions (4, 6 and 7) were distributed via email to superintendent secretaries in the last week for each district to cast its vote in this year’s elections.

According to the MASB Bylaws Article VIII, Section 8, if any nomination for the Board of Directors is unopposed, the Board of Directors shall declare the unopposed candidate elected without conducting an election for the uncontested group or region. This is the case for Regions 3 and 8, as well as Group V.

Candidates are listed below; if your district did not receive its ballot or has any questions, please contact Cheryl Huffman at or 517.327.5915.

Region 3 (three-year term)    
Tim Detwiler* Northview Public Schools Unopposed


Region 4 (three-year term)  
Ruth Coppens* Saginaw ISD
Amy Lawrence Byron Area Schools


Region 6 (one-year term)  
Alan Koenig Mattawan Consolidated School
Joanne Willson Portage Public Schools


Region 7 (three-year term)

Gregory A. Peoples* Washtenaw ISD
Jack Temsey Potterville Public Schools
Dale S. Wingerd Clinton Community Schools


Region 8 (three-year term)    
Brenda Carter* Pontiac School District Unopposed


Region 8 (two-year term)    
Donald Hubler* L'Anse Creuse Public Schools/Macomb ISD Unopposed


Group V (three-year term)    
Stephen J. Hyer* Clarkston Community Schools Unopposed



Read More DashBoard Articles