MASA Announces Superintendents of the Year

DashBoard, Jan. 6, 2016

The Michigan Association of School Administrators has named Dr. Michael F. Rice, Superintendent of Kalamazoo Public Schools, as the 2016 Michigan Superintendent of the Year.

In October, a committee of distinguished judges selected Dr. Rice from a pool of highly qualified nominees that were each selected as their region's superintendent of the year (see below for a full list). The selection of the Michigan recipient is part of the American Association of School Administrators National Superintendent of the Year Program. As the MASA honoree, Dr. Rice also becomes a finalist for the national award.

The Superintendent of the Year Award is presented by MASA to a member who has shown tremendous effort and dedication to enriching the lives of children and the community as a whole. Dr. Rice is recognized for his energetic advocacy for public education and his determination to ensure every student in Kalamazoo Public Schools has the opportunity to reach his or her full potential.

MASA will recognize Dr. Rice at its Midwinter Conference in Detroit this month. He will have opportunities throughout the year to address superintendents statewide, and his name will be inscribed on a commemorative plaque on display at the MASA office in Lansing.

Since beginning his position in 2007, Dr. Rice has been dedicated to increasing literacy at Kalamazoo Public Schools through encouragement, support and insistence that the entire community engages with students and their families. Parent education and family literacy programs located across the community are serving to promote these efforts. Nominators have said these programs are taking hold because Dr. Rice leads with guidance, mentoring and ongoing feedback as he drives the district forward.

2016 Regional Superintendents of the Year

Region 1: Angela Reed, Detour Area Schools

Region 2: Donald Haskins, Atlanta Community Schools

Region 3: Tim Haist, Big Rapids Public Schools

Region 4: Mary Anne Ackerman, Frankenmuth School District

Region 5: Josha Talison, Beecher Community Schools

Region 6: Dr. Andrea Tuttle, Owosso Public Schools

Region 7: Dr. Michael Rice, Kalamazoo Public Schools

Region 8: Dr. Gregory Gray, Brighton Area Schools

Region 9: Kenneth Gutman, Walled Lake Consolidated Schools

Source: MASA Press Release, Nov. 6, 2015.

Read More DashBoard Articles