Twenty Districts Honored During 21st Annual Education Excellence Awards

Event celebrates innovative programs from across the state

Literacy and learning activities that encompass curricular ties and service projects, a cutting-edge cybersecurity class and an early morning exercise program were just a handful of the innovative programs honored at the 21st Annual Education Excellence Awards Luncheon on May 12 at the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center in East Lansing.

The program and event are cosponsored by the Michigan Association of School Boards and SET SEG Foundation in an effort to recognize original, innovative programs that positively affect student achievement in local and intermediate schools districts. School board members, administrators, teachers, students and other school personnel were on hand to celebrate this achievement.

“There are so many great things going on in public schools and we just don’t celebrate them enough,” said Kathy Hayes, MASB Executive Director. “The Education Excellence Awards allow us to honor these districts and their accomplishments. We are so proud of the winners and what they’re doing for public education in Michigan.”

Entries are judged by an independent panel of state education specialists. Each school/district received a trophy, street sign proclaiming it an “Education Excellence Winner” and a cash award from the SET SEG Foundation.

From this year’s award winners (see below), the program with the highest overall score, Reading Beyond the Page at Swan Valley High in Swan Valley School District, received special recognition with the Innovator of the Year Award.

“It is an honor to support MASB’s Education Excellence program and provide resources to promote innovation, inspiration and creativity in our schools,” said Lou Guizzetti, executive director of SET SEG. “These programs demonstrate the unmatched commitment to education we see every day in public education. We are very proud to be able to reward these programs and advance progressive learning and community involvement among Michigan’s students.”

The following 20 programs and districts were honored:

  • Ann Arbor Public Schools: Writing Center, Skyline High
  • Farmington Public Schools: Rise and Shine, Longacre Elementary
  • Farwell Area Schools: Mandarin Dual Immersion and Spanish K-14 Program
  • Ferndale Public Schools: College Immersion for Urban Students, University High
  • Frankenmuth School District: Engineering Program, Frankenmuth High
  • Kent Intermediate School District: Hospitality Program, Kent Career Technical Center
  • L’Anse Creuse Public Schools: TV & Broadcast Media, Frederick V. Pankow Center
  • Lawton Community Schools: Jump Start, Lawton Elementary
  • Marquette Area Public Schools: Empowering Young Females, Marquette Alternative High
  • Midland Public Schools: Marketing, H.H. Down High
  • Mona Shores Public Schools: Sailors Ride With PRIDE, Mona Shores High
  • Montrose Community Schools: Montrose Digital Media TV, Montrose Hill-McCloy High
  • Moran Township School District: Peer-to-Peer Technology, Gros Cap
  • Muskegon Area ISD: Internet, Network & Security Technologies, Muskegon Area Career Tech Center
  • Oxford Community Schools: Oxford Academy of Engineering & Technology, Oxford High
  • Pontiac School District: Project-Based Learning, International Technology Academy
  • Port Huron Area School District: Cougar University, Central Middle
  • Southgate Community Schools: S.A.C.E. Cares Community Garden, Asher
  • Swan Valley School District: Reading Beyond the Page, Swan Valley High
  • Van Buren ISD: Project L.E.A.N.

You can read descriptions of each winning program at


The Michigan Association of School Boards provides quality educational leadership services for all Michigan boards of education, and advocates for student achievement and public education.