New Addition to the MASB Board of Directors Announced

Cheryl Huffman

By Cheryl Huffman, MASB Board Liaison

DashBoard, March 9, 2016

The following members were recently elected to or ran unopposed for seats on the MASB Board of Directors.

Alan Koenig – Region 6

Koenig was elected for a one-year term to represent Region 6 beginning in March 2016.

Koenig was elected to the Mattawan Consolidated School Board of Education in 2006, and is currently president of the MCS board. He is also the vice president of the Van Buren County Association of School Boards, where has been a member for nine years. Koenig has served on the MASB Government Relations and Resolutions and Bylaws Committees, and has attained MASB’s Master Board Member Award Certification.

“I believe in the importance of a strong public education system and the need for support from parents and the community,” Koenig said. “I chose to run for the school board when my oldest child was in elementary school and have been involved ever since, at the local, regional and state levels. I think MASB is a valuable organization that supports local school boards.”

Incumbent Directors Reelected to the Board:

  • Region 4 – Ruth Coppens, Saginaw ISD (three-year term)
  • Region 7 – Gregory Peoples, Washtenaw ISD (three-year term)

Incumbent Directors Who Ran Unopposed:

  • Region 3 – Tim Detwiler, Northview Public Schools (three-year term)
  • Region 8 – Brenda Carter, Pontiac School District (three-year term)
  • Region 8 – Donald Hubler, L’Anse Creuse Public Schools/Macomb ISD (two-year term)
  • Group 5 – Stephen Hyer, Clarkston Community Schools (three-year term)

Director terms begin Wednesday, March 9, 2016.

Read More DashBoard Articles