2021 Board of Directors’ Call for Nominations

This year, eight seats on the MASB Board of Directors are up for election. The MASB Board of Directors is comprised of 21 members: 16 directors elected from the eight regions (two elected from each); one director each from Groups V, VI and VII; and two at-large directors. Directors are elected by active member school boards and each year several seats are up for election. As approved by the 2018 Delegate Assembly, beginning in 2019 and in each subsequent year, the MASB President will nominate a member to serve as an at-large director, subject to Board approval. Beginning in 2021, the Board of Directors will consist of 22 members, including three at-large directors.

Nomination of Candidates

Article VIII, Section 7 of the MASB Bylaws provides that your board's nomination of candidates for the MASB Board of Directors must be forwarded to the MASB Executive Director by Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2021. If your board wishes to nominate a member, please be certain that the person agrees to be a candidate and, as approved by the 2018 Delegate Assembly, have served as a qualified trustee of an Active or Academy member board of education for at least one year and have completed the Fundamentals of School Board Service course (CBA 101) at the time of his or her nomination to office. The time commitment for individuals serving on the MASB Board minimally includes:

  • Five or six one-day meetings during the fiscal year, (usually Fridays and may include a retreat/meeting).
  • Service on an Association and/or a Board Committee and possibly service as a chairperson. This may involve several additional weekday meetings per year.

Board Limitations

Article VIII, Section 6 of the MASB Bylaws permits only one director to be elected or appointed from any one local or intermediate school district board. This year the following seats on the MASB Board are up for election (one seat each; three-year terms unless otherwise noted):

  • Region 1
  • Region 2
  • Region 3 (two-year term)
  • Region 5
  • Region 6
  • Region 7
  • Region 8
  • Group VI (one-year term)

Find your Region/Group here.

Voting will take place via online ballots, which will be distributed via email for contested races only by Jan. 22, 2021.

Each district will receive ONE ballot, which will be emailed to the superintendent secretary on record with MASB. This person will be responsible for completing the ballot and confirming the vote.

Ballot deadline is 1 p.m. on Wednesday, March 3, 2021.

Other Important Information for Candidates:

  • No local district/ISD funds can be used to campaign for anyone running for a seat.
  • No use of MASB staff time or resources is permitted during the election process (November–March). If you have questions, please contact Don Wotruba at 517.327.5900,, or Cheryl Huffman at 517.327.5915,
  • During the election process, candidates should refrain from participating as a presenter/speaker at MASB functions.
  • It’s the responsibility of the candidate to distribute any campaign materials. Staff won’t transport/distribute materials to conferences or other events.

Questions? Contact Cheryl Huffman, 517.327.5915.

MASB Bylaws - Article IV – Membership

Section 2. Active Members. The board of education of any public school district in Michigan may become an active member of the Association. Active members of the Association shall be divided into eight regions. The regions shall be designated according to intermediate school district boundaries. The regions shall be as follows:

Region 1. Copper Country ISD, Delta-Schoolcraft ISD, Dickinson-Iron ISD, Eastern Upper Peninsula ISD, Gogebic-Ontonagon ISD, Marquette-Alger RESA and Menominee County ISD.

Region 2. Alpena-Montmorency-Alcona ESD, Charlevoix- Emmet ISD, Cheboygan-Otsego-Presque Isle ESD, COOR ISD, Iosco RESA, Manistee ISD, Traverse Bay Area ISD and Wexford-Missaukee ISD.

Region 3. Ionia County ISD, Kent ISD, Mason-Lake ISD, Mecosta-Osceola ISD, Montcalm Area ISD, Muskegon Area ISD, Newaygo County ISD, Oceana ISD and Ottawa Area ISD.

Region 4. Bay-Arenac ISD, Clare-Gladwin RESD, Clinton County RESA, Gratiot-Isabella RESD, Midland County ESA, Saginaw ISD and Shiawassee RESD.

Region 5. Genesee ISD, Huron ISD, Lapeer County ISD, Sanilac ISD, St. Clair County ISD and Tuscola ISD.

Region 6. Allegan County ISD, Barry ISD, Berrien County ISD, Branch ISD, Calhoun ISD, Kalamazoo RESA, Lewis Cass ISD, St. Joseph County ISD and Van Buren ISD.

Region 7. Eaton ISD, Hillsdale County ISD, Ingham ISD, Jackson County ISD, Lenawee ISD, Livingston ESA, Monroe County ISD,and Washtenaw ISD.

Region 8. Macomb ISD, Oakland Schools and Wayne RESA.

Active members shall also be divided into the following seven groups based on pupil membership.

Group I All intermediate districts;
Group II School districts with a pupil membership of 0 - 1,400;
Group III School districts with a pupil membership of 1,401 - 2,500;
Group IV School districts with a pupil membership of 2,501 - 5,000;
Group V School districts with a pupil membership of 5,001 - 11,000;
Group VI School districts with a pupil membership of 11,001 - 40,000; and
Group VII School districts with a pupil membership over 40,000.