Belding Area Schools Board of Education Honored for Excellence in School Governance

The Belding Area Schools Board of Education has met the rigorous requirements to be named to the distinguished list of the Michigan Association of School Boards (MASB) Board Visionary Leadership Award winners. By design, it’s extremely difficult for boards to even qualify to apply for the award, let alone actually win. Representatives of the Belding Area Schools Board of Education will accept the award in conjunction with MASB’s Annual Fall Conference to be held in Grand Rapids on Friday, Nov. 5.

The Board Visionary Leadership Award was created in 2004 to recognize boards of education/ governance teams for their vision, leadership and success in raising student achievement. Each year, both local and intermediate district boards of education are eligible to receive the award. Entries are evaluated by independent judges against a pre-established set of criteria:

  • Leadership for achievement
  • Growth in student achievement
  • Board development/leadership effectiveness
  • Board conduct, operations and ethics
  • Communications and community relations

The board of education and superintendent have made the commitment to improve student achievement by creating a very comprehensive district school improvement plan, and have shown evidence of continued support for the plan. This team also shows evidence that they are continuing to strive for furthering their school district’s academic excellence through board development and clear policies that have a direct emphasis on their commitment to student achievement.

“The Belding Area Schools Board of Education has demonstrated a commitment to operating by the highest standards in order to successfully improve student achievement,” said Kathy Hayes, MASB executive director. “They clearly understand the importance of a strong team to effectively serve their students and communities.”

Members of the 2009-10 award-winning Belding Area Schools Board of Education team include: Charles R. Barker, superintendent; Tom Humphreys, president; Terry Boni, vice president; Deborah Wagner, secretary; Robert Insley, treasurer; Timothy Flynn, trustee; Byron Davey, trustee; and Andrea Booker, trustee.

MASB provides quality educational leadership services to all Michigan boards of education, and advocates for student achievement and public education.